LMM New Music Concert

On Tuesday 12 May, we will be presenting our first concert featuring new music by living composers only, including Mark Bowden, Donnacha Dennehy, Edmund Finnis, Helen Grime and Mark Simpson at The Estorick Collection of Modern Italian Art in Islington from 7pm. Performances will be given by LMM Award Holder Hyeyoon Park, and members of London Contemporary Orchestra and YCAT musicians, our two newest Creative Partners.


Commissioning and supporting performances of new music by our artists and students has always been an important part of our work. We think that it is vital for musicians of all ages to perform music of their time and to collaborate with living composers. This year alone, we have commissioned three new works including Five Memos by Mark Bowden for Hyeyoon Park, Gavin Higgins’ new piece for London Philharmonic Orchestra and LMM Learning students, and a violin concerto by Edmund Finnis for LMM Award Holder Benjamin Beilman and London Contemporary Orchestra.


We are very excited to be increasing the level of support for new music by introducing a new award for composers from next year, delivering incredible writing opportunities for performances by LMM Award Holders, members of London Contemporary Orchestra and YCAT musicians. We look forward to celebrating these new partnerships at the concert on 12 May and hope that you’ll be able to join us for the festivities. RSVP to Catriona McCormick Cmccormick@londonmusicmasters.org by Friday 8 May. Tickets £9/£6 on the door.



Barkham Fantasy by Mark Simpson for solo piano

North Wall by Donnacha Dennehy for solo piano

Brother by Edmund Finnis for Violin and Viola

To See the Summer Sky by Helen Grime for Violin and Viola

Five Memos by Mark Bowden for Violin and Piano



Robert Ames, Viola

Eloisa-Fleur Thom, Violin

Roderick Chadwick, Piano

Hyeyoon Park, Violin

Richard Uttley, Piano 


Photo Credit: Amy Barton

Helen Grime, Composer 

Posted on 30/03/2015 by Hannah Kendall

Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments